The Mathematics of Craft...

I do like flexing a bit of mathematics muscles now and then. Probably more so now that when I was at school when I was meant to be actually learning it. Call it odd if you must but I like setting myself wee maths problems to try and work out.

For example, trying to work out if by inventing the Burgel I had a created a burger with more surface area than it's standard hamburger equivalent thus giving it more cooking surface. Or does the shadow from my disc brake stay on the exact same line in relation to my direction of travel as it grows longer as I pass each street lamp on the bridge.

I managed to sneak a wee bit of circle ratios into the build of Ewan's top hat he wanted to build at the weekend. It's top and rim perfectly fitted the outside surface just by working out it's radius from the circumference of card we measured round his head.

The pattern however is beyond my doing. The hat is a bit Abe Lincoln but I saw it more as Cat in the Hat style and would have striped it red and white.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.