VIEW FROM THE TRAIN

at Lauenförde, near our home in Germany, showing the gravel works there.
Our journey went well, on this bright, warm day, seeing all blue skies all day.
We travelled on the light rail with Mischa, who went to Leiden for an important meeting.
Then we took the train to Venlo in Limburg, from where our first german train starts.
In the train I read a long article on Hermann Hesse in the magazine littéraire, that I found,( I had forgotten that I once had wanted to read it), in the store-room that I had started to tidy up. And I too read the first pages in the little book Piet Hein had for me as a present, the title: On Love and Barley - Haiku of Basho, the 17th century japanese - zen poet.
A great inspiration!!
Now we have arrived and had a meal, simple pizza of course. The forecast for tomorrow tells to expect rain. Good for the plants, I would say.

Thank you all very much for liking my preening heron, for the visiting, the stars and the hearts.

My haiku:

The gravel they dig up
Transport and sell it -
A new lake for the birds

And the proverb:

A flea in one's ear.

Meaning: A stinging reproof, which sends one away discomfited. In French: Avoir la puce en l'oreille, in the sense of being tormented by the desires and cares of love, occurs in Charles d'Orléans (1465) and Rabelais (1546).




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.