MonoMonday Wood

I walked this morning in Big Rock Park. I was on a quest to photograph wood. Not really hard given that I was surrounded by trees. :) Anyhow, I chose this photo of a fallen tree. The last Sunday in February we had a mammoth snow storm. It dumped nine inches of snow and I enjoyed walking in these same woods. I noticed many cracking sounds and snow came down from the trees. Little did I know that the heavy snow would leave a large number of downed trees and branches. By afternoon I was getting the idea when I took a second walk down to Whatcom Falls Park and saw several fallen trees. In fact I thought to myself, "What are you doing here?" but kept walking and taking photos. It was so beautiful.

This is part of one of the trees that came down in Big Rock Park. It was dead but standing before the heavy snow brought it down. I liked this section with its curled bark and fungi and the ragged edges of where it broke from the standing tree. The photo looked good in color, but since this is Mono Monday, I chose the mono version for my blip. Here it is in large.

Today was a day of too much driving and too many appointments. I don't like to complain but truthfully I am getting really a bit tired of being the family driver. Some days, and today was one of them, I'd love to just stay home and do stuff I want to do. Like work on my photos. Instead I drove Arvin to an appointment and then to the hairdresser's to pick the shirt he left there when we got our hair done. And we all went to Fairhaven for an appointment and dropping off used books at Village Books. Then to Haggen's where we had to wait for a prescription. It was after six by the time we got home. Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.