GREY'S MONUMENT

I went to the Theatre Royal in Newcastle this afternoon. I saw Matthew Bourne's Swan Lake. I'm not a great fan of ballet but this production has won so many awards I thought I should take the chance to see it. It wasn't a traditional ballet and I really enjoyed it.

Took this shot as I stood outside the theatre looking up Grey Street. The monument at the top was erected to acclaim Earl Grey for the passing of the Great Reform Act of 1832. The column is 130 feet high. A spiral staircase leads to a viewing platform at the top of the monument which is occasionally opened to the public. The wide base of the monument is a popular meeting spot and often acts as a venue for buskers, religious speakers and political activists/protesters. Whenever I meet Neil in town its always at Grey's Monument.

Local band Maximo Park wrote this song - By The Monument.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bky3_5zToTI

And of course there is Early Grey tea - a great favorite of my late husband and my daughter

Came out of the theatre at around 4.30pm, did a bit of shopping and then came home. Weather was OK today - quite mild and the wind has dropped. There were a few spots of rain late in the day but nothing much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.