VIEW FROM THE TRAIN

on my way back from my visit to Amsterdam, where I met with our dear friend Cor.
In the morning I took the lightrail and the IC train to Amsterdam Central, where I met him. We drank cappucino in the newly opened Koffiehuis in front of the station, nicely set at the waterside.
And discussed what we would to intend to do: walk or cycle and where.
We decided to go by ferry to Noord, drive to the station of another ferry (we both adore boat-trips) that brought us to Java-Island, where we walked to the Punta (the name of the street there is: Venetië straat - Venice street) and back, because we then discovered we were on an Island.
On a bench we ate our sandwich and walked to the Flevo-Park. I knew that Cor was born and had lived for many years in Oost, but now all remiscencies from where he played as a kid came back to him. And he talked and talked.
While in the Flevo-park a strange thing happened to me.
I stood on a path, Cor was for a moment absent, and the bark of a tree took my attention, I walked towards it, put my hand on the bark, and it felt so soft and warm, that I left my hands moving on it.
Then a jogger stopped at the path, looked at me and asked if I searched for strength on the tree. I said yes, I do. This tree (and many others I thought give strength) gives strength.
The man stepped towards the tree, put his hands on the bark, bend his head and before I knew what was going to happen, he cried softly, while his schoulders did shake. I was amazed of course, but in a way I respected his emotions and only listened.
Then Cor appeared and he kind of said: are you wanting to bend the tree? and walked further on the path.
The man kept weeping and I did not want to leave immediately, wondering what would happen next. The tree gives strength, yes, but not immediately.
So I said that, and he said that it was the colour of green. And I answered, yes, green is the colour of hope. I think he laughed at that. And I added that we all were looking for hope. I did want to let him know that he was not alone.
I certainly did not want to ask why he felt so sad. I said goodbye and walked towards Cor, who stood talking with a family a bit further away.
We left the park and walked along a lake and came in a big bow and a short ride with the bus, back at the place where the ferry was. And could step upon it and sail away back.
For tea and afterwards our tradionally Thai food restaurant. Then I took the ferry to Central Station and in the light of the setting sun I took the picture of today.
A very nice day, the weather just perfect and the walking pleasant, and not too long.

My haiku:

The bark of the trees
Or the colour of tulips
Hope is everywhere

And the proverb:

Hi/Zij denkt u met lege flesschen te betalen.

Translation: He/She thinks to pay you with empty bottles.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.