Learning Pie Crust

I just got back from a Pie Workshop at one of our fabulous local bakeries, and I'm a little punchy from being up so late and having to be alert for three hours. Though I've been making pies for years, every one is always a crisis--the dough sticks to the counter, or it falls apart on the way to the pie pan, or it's too crumbly or too stiff. MrS knows to stay away from the kitchen when I'm playing with pie. Funny thing: it always tastes good no matter how much I yell at it. Anyway, when the bakery offered this class, I thought: why not? I've got a few more pie-making years left, may as well learn how to do it right.

The big difference here is butter, and lots of it. No more Crisco for me! We mixed the dough by hand, right on the counter, and it was fun to be literally hands-on (or -in). The dough held together so nicely that making the lattice was easy. The filling here is strawberry/rhubarb, one of my favorites, especially served right out of the oven with whipped cream, which is how we ate it.

I'm all fired up to try this at home. Anticipate more photos of pie this weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.