sp33dway

By sp33dway

post-run routine

I ran a comfortably steady 12 miles this morning in the FiveFingers and I really enjoyed it, smiling like a happy loon for most of my minimalist saunter ready for when I tackle the Chester Half Marathon in exactly 3 weeks. I'm not in any rush and will be taking that race in my stride to try and avoid injuring myself, so it'll simply be a means to getting myself 'half marathon fit' before I take a few weeks off for our holiday at the end of May and I come back to a training plan of speedier long runs and a proper routine of hills and intervals for the short ones. I'd like to try my best to crack 2hrs and slash 13 minutes off my current half marathon PB of 2.12 when I do the Great North Run in September, but that's a whole summer away yet.

This afternoon I popped on the Mac for an hour to finish off some ads I was designing last week, then took littleA to the local baths for a swimmingly good splash. She finally plucked up the courage to jump into the pool on her own today thanks to some egging-on from other children there, and once she did there was no stopping her. I was desperate to get in the big pool on my own for a few lengths (last time I did I astonished myself by managing almost 20 lengths without stopping, something unfathomable before I started running) but not having ladySpeed there meant I had to be on lifesaver duty. Not that I cared because going swimming with LittleA is a total barrel of laughs.

***
There's nowt wrong with my ankleybits btw. This is just part of my post 'long run' ritual to help nip any potential nigglenags in the bud before they even start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.