Bungalow

I'm not a great fan of bungalows but this is a proper one - dating I suspect from the 1920s/30s. It has a very pretty and decorative verandah and attractive curved French doors that open onto it. It's a holiday home but much used and often the owner is to be seen taking breakfast on his verandah. You know when he's in residence for he hangs a very fine windsock shaped like a fish from his roof. The fish shaped windsock came from Australia apparently for I enviously inquired as we exchanged pleasantries. The view is pretty stunning too, it looks right out onto the sea.
Bungalows of course originated in India - Bengal to be precise (yes, just been checking) and became very popular between the Wars. There are about three of this style in the Bantry area but sadly most bungalows in Ireland are pretty hideous - dull rectangular things plonked unsympathetically into the landscape usually surrounded by flat very neat grass. And they're everywhere.

Other than that, the weather has been wonderful. A little bit of work on the book, the tidying up. I wanted to include a poem by Seamus Heaney but it will cost be £75 for the privilege and a 10 week wait for permission. To get an ISBN number also involves money, £125 to be exact but you do get 10 numbers for that. And then, do you set up your own publishing house- not nearly as grand as it sounds, a bit more money and you simply register.

Himself has a new and serious camera with large and complicated lenses. He's a happy boy. The first shot is pretty impressive too.

Do you remember my poor tooth of 10 days ago - well I have to go and have things done tomorrow.I'm dreading it but being stoical. I just wish I could be knocked out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.