THE WATERLILY LEAF

I saw in the pond of my most admired garden, an informal one, in town just over the bridge near the Bank where the giant peonie flowers grow.
That's were we headed for, the peonies so Piet Hein could take his picture for today. And it is on our way to the little garden center where we had to buy soil for my new flower bed near the hut. And where we bought some gernaniums (pelargonia) and petunias just to brighten some spots. A new clematis as well that I want to grow also near the hut.
When I stood, camera in hand, at the entrance of my favoured garden, I saw the owner working there and he invited me to enter and made this gesture which I like so much as if saying you are welcome to walk where you want.
The garden is not big, but it has a little pond. In summer the dragonflies are there to be found.
The waterlilies leaves were full of raindrops and I took some pictures.
When I left the garden, I greated the owner and told him again I adored his garden. Each year, he said, it is totally different. And then he added: I do not any longer have deer. And I answered that I had seen that already when I cycled along the place where I had visited his deer and his apple orchard.
I knew the reason why he could not held them any longer.
I lingered just a little and asked him if he missed the deer.
For a moment he considered the question and then he said: No, no I do not.
I had asked the question knowing in a way his answer already.
The deer had been so frightened, I said. They are, he answered, when they have heard the first shot.
He had said too that perhaps he wants to have some cows grazing there.
The day had started dark, the clouds growing like giants, when it did not rain it was rather nice outside, but ain the late afternoon the weather turned really bad, but then we were inside and looked at our pictures.

My haiku:

The wet raccoon came
For shelter I like to share
My banana

And the proverb:

No song, no supper.

1611 Beaumont and Fletcher in one of their plays: No Michael....let him stay at home and sing for his supper.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.