In Nuuksio with Päivi, Petra and Tero

It's been a bit of an eventful day today.

When I woke up this morning and I saw the grey sky still there, my morale fell a bit down. The weather has been rubbish all week and I was expecting a bit of sunshine at the weekend. It started to rain as well... not good.

I took the bus to Veikkola and, guess what! I missed my bus stop. I realised when I saw a sign on the road with the word Veikkola on it pointing at the opposite direction of where I was going. I asked the girl sitting next to me on the bus and she told me that yes, I had missed my stop. I'm such a numpty that I forgot to ask for Päivi's phone number just in case. Luckily she got my phone number from another blipper and managed to call me.

I explained the situation to the driver, and the ladies at the front of the bus told me not to worry about it that they would help me find my way back. The driver was kind enough to write a note on my ticket so I didn't have to pay for my fare again. One of the ladies got off the bus with me and showed me where to take my bus and then explained the situation to the new driver, who didn't seem impressed by the tone of his voice. But he seemed ok in the end.. I think...

I finally got to Veikkola and Päivi, Petra and Tero were waiting for me at the bus stop. We went to Päivi's house and then we went for a walk around the area. A really beautiful place! Then we had coffee and something to eat and headed to Päivi's favourite abandoned house. There was a man there that told us that we shouldn't be there. He was a bit annoyed but he became friendlier when Päivi, Petra and Tero told him that I came from Scotland and they were showing me around. We apologized, of course. Glad this happened after we took the pictures! :)

Then we went to Nuuksio, a huge Natural Park very popular for hiking here in Finland. After that we headed home and I experienced Finnish sauna for the first time! :)

It's been a lovely day and, although it was raining in the morning in Helsinki, the sun was shining for most of the day in Veikkola and the surrounding area, so it was all good!

Thanks Päivi, Petra and Tero for a great day! Going to Petra and Tero's cottage in Porvoo tomorrow. Really looking forward to it! :)

Thanks very much for all you nice comments about Pirjo's portrait yesterday! I hope you're all having a good weekend! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.