Icy

We had grey fog at home this morning but headed up to Nelson Lakes National Park at 8.30 and found they'd had a really good frost up on the plateau - and they had rapidly clearing skies.

A and Y went for a 10 km walk while I just took on a shorter one. Before I'd gone 3 km I managed to get hit in the head by a falling branch, which landed me on my backside - more from the surprise than the force. Then whilst looking skyward to avoid any other deadfall I tripped on a root and landed on my arse again. With a bruised head, scratched glasses (that I only picked up last week) and a double bruised posterior I decided that was enough and turned around and headed back to the car.

While waiting for the others to return I met up with Second Half of Life at the lakeside and she made me a coffee whilst I sat in the sun beside her motorhome. Good life that!

It is the first day of winter and while we were there a group of a dozen people took turns at jumping into the lake. When C asked them why they were doing it they claimed it was for the 'photo opportunity". The madness of youth!

We made a stop on the way home this afternoon.

A's 18 year old son was killed in a car accident on the road between Kawatiri and the Lake. Some years back someone removed the cross that she had placed at the site. When I bought the timber to make a cross for the site of my son's accident I ended up with double what I needed so I had an extra cross made for A. It has sat in my hallway for nearly 6 months and earlier this week A picked it up and painted it. Today she erected it where the previous cross had been.

A pointed out as we walked away that she'd had him in her life for 18 years and been without him for 27.

Heart breaking.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.