Weevil

Oh how to procrastinate!

I found a multide of miniscule Hylaeus bee's who were being attacked by equally tiny robber flies. Camera in hand, I pulled up a chair and set about photographing them. From time to time another little creature would appear to distract me... anyway, long story cut short, my ten mins turned into an hour and then another. Gardening plans not achieved but I might catch up if I don't go back to the bees for a blip.

This should have been loaded last night but I procrastincated a little more and tried to ID this little creature. It reminds me of a Womble.

True Weevils, Snouted Weevils or Curculionidae if you like the Latin, are one of the most numerous families on earth with over 40,00 species worldwide and over 600 in the UK alone. This little fellow is smaller than the head of a matchstick.

I thought I'd come up trumps with Gorse Seed Weevil but, there is no Gorse in or anywhere near the garden. We haven't been near Gorse for ages and after thought, it's antennae are positioned lover on its proboscis and it's legs too grey. Oh well you can't win them all and I don't have books that are specific enough to get any closer.

Back to the plantings ...or procrastinate again for a blip for today!

If you have a better ID...help!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.