Female Red Winged Blackbird

It rained this morning and then cleared. I hung out on the deck to relax and stalk the birds with my camera. Luckily the birds decided to humor me and chase each other while they ate the peanuts. I almost selected one of these photos, but finally decided on this one of a female red winged blackbird enjoying the peanut butter suet. Her patterned wings are just so beautiful.

Spent the afternoon with Arvin at Whatcom Community College where I used to work. They were having their annual retirement party for this year's new retirees. They invite former retirees so Arvin and I went to see old friends. We had a delightful time. I was a bit taken aback when I realized it's been nine years since I retired. Yikes! My how time flies. There were people at the party I hadn't seen for years including three of my bosses. One was retiring this year.

The President of the college and other staff announced each retiree and talked about their contribution to the college. There were some I did not know who had joined the staff after I left. The last retiree that was announced had taught at WCC for 43 years! That is a very long time to work at one place. It will be a real change for him and an adjustment now that he is retiring. I loved seeing so many friends and thinking back about my years at WCC.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.