Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Wishes come true...

I went out wishing for a Halloween Pennant dragon today ... and I got my wish! I ended up not going to the trail I initially planned, and instead went to a field where blue birds and tree swallows nest. Didn't see either of the afore-mentioned birds, but I saw at least 30 Halloween Pennants! Seems like every tall stalk of grass had a dragon perched on it. These particular dragons are a joy to photograph because they will repeatedly return to the same perch, and they are fairly tolerant of humans. That said, I do better photographing them with a longer lens, and today I had Big Daddy at hand.

I was having such fun that I went to two other places looking for more dragons ... and both places delivered in big numbers. So, as you might imagine, my Flickr today is loaded with dragons and damsels, including a circle of mating bluet damsels. Very fun.

I also had the joy of watching an Eastern Kingbird (one of the tyrant flycatchers) gleaning insects over a small pond, each time returning to a tall stalk next to the pond to eat his snack. He was kept company by a large number of barn swallows who were also bugging over the lake. It decreased the numbers of dragons and damsels, but - hey - everyone's gotta eat, right?

I posted my 8 favorite shots from today on Flickr, starting HERE, if you'd like to have a look.

The weekend weather looks like it's going to be perfect, so I plan to get out and do some more hiking/photographing over the next couple of days. Weekends are hard for me with Hubs gone - I feel at loose ends. So glad that he will be here next weekend.

I thought that all the local high schools had held their graduations by last weekend, but there were FOUR more this week! Which means that this weekend will probably not be very busy in terms of home showings. Patience, grasshopper, patience...

Happy Friday.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.