Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Bliptogether #4

I've been in the wonder of the Blip Parade 3 days in a row now. Mr. Fun has been here once, and Bob dog once, so today needed to be someone else.

Honest, I haven't seen anyone else today. Haven't gone anywhere; it's rained and it's poured and it's rained some more. I'm not complaining. We need the moisture desperately.

But yesterday when we were out and about with Bob dog to see the doggie eye doctor, we stopped at the Whole Foods store in Irvine. We passed the bakery section and a whole tray of gingerbread cookies stared out of the display case at me.

Gingerbread cookies always conjure memories of the time my parents took me to Santa's Village in Sky Forest, California, when I was a child. I loved the place. A toy shop, a candle shop, a lollipop shop, and many others captured every child's attention. The sled ride with real reindeer was magical.

Then the amora of wonderful confectionary items came from the direction of Mrs. Claus's Kitchen. There was even a gingerbread house. I talked my parents into buying me a gingerbread man cookie, but the stipulation was that I would not eat it until we got back home. So on the ride home Mom let me hold the little white bag that contained the gingerbread man. As we were driving through all the curves and twists and turns of the mountain road to return back to our home in the Los Angeles area I was fighting the feeling of car sickness.

Someone in the car, I don't remember if it was one of my parents or my big sister, told me I should open the bag and breathe in the cookie fragrance. I guess they thought it would help. To this day I still equate gingerbread men with being nauseated. How stupid is that?

Even though I don't think I'd ever crave a gingerbread man cookie, I love having a piece of fresh baked gingerbread hot out of the oven and whipped cream added to it is just that much better. So I'll confess on tomorrow's blip whether or not I ate this gingerbread man -- it's quite tempting. I think I can hear him now as he sings,

"Run, run, as fast as you can!
You can't catch me!
I'm the Gingerbread Man!"


I'm signing off now at approximately 4:30 and hoping for an evening filled with wet weather. Have a good one everyone and we're hoping to see YOU in the parade.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.