Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Glimpse

Today at noon......God gave us a glimpse of Spring. The sun peeked out from behind the clouds, briefly drying up the rain. Momentarily. But enough time for the kids to get out their bikes and ride around outside. As they were zooming up and down the sidewalk, I spotted these lovely flowers just beginning to bloom in the neighbor's yard across the street. The first burst of color in the neighborhood. We had a small window of time to enjoy the lovely weather until the clouds gathered tight again and then......again, it began to rain.

As much as I enjoyed the short dry spell, I also really do appreciate the rain. It's a fact of life. The source of all of our green that we have grown so accustomed to. Without rain, we wouldn't have as much beauty as we have all around us. The bright green grasses, the tall wooded trees, the delicate drops of water on all of the plants and flowers. A rainy day doesn't bother me because I have grown up with rain all of my life. Seasons are important to me and that is why I feel so fortunate to live here. I like the unpredictable weather, the spontaneous changes in temperature. I like appreciating that really sunny day because the forecast predicts it may be the last for a stretch.

Seasons keep things interesting and this is what I enjoy about each of them:

Winter.
Cold, brisk and cozy. It's a cute boot, jeans, and sweater kind of day. It's a time to catch up with a friend in a cute little cafe over coffees. It's a time to cuddle up in a blanket and enjoy a great book. It's a stocking cap day. The kind of day that turns the tip of your nose red and allows you to see your breath when you speak. Winter gives us all the excuse to slow things down and spend the afternoon playing a game. Baking cookies. Working on a craft. You know that everyone else around you is hibernating indoors, so you don't feel guilty about your "lazy day". To our family, winter means snowboarding. Flying down the slopes on your board while enjoying some of the most gorgeous views you've even seen. It means hot chocolate in the lodge while warming up next to the roaring fire. I like winter. It reminds me of cozy times. Warm memories. Listening to my kids giggle as they enjoy the first day of snow.

Spring.
Breezy, partially sunny days. Time to get out those capris that have been taking up space in the closet. It's a time to venture outside in shoes that don't require socks. It's a good day for a walk through the park. Swinging on the swings. Wearing a short sleeved shirt. Feeling the warmth of the sun on your face. Spring skiing.....the best kind. Whether it is snow skiing or waterskiing, it is welcomed. It is appreciated. The birds are chirping. Everyone around is walking, smiling, and catching up with one another. Spring gives us all that refreshing deep breath. That deep breath that tells us that yes, we get to go outside again!

Summer.
Oh summer. I do love summer. I think that it might be our families favorite season. Warm, hot, sometimes too hot, back to warm again. Wake boarding! A family favorite. We are waterdogs. Every single one of us. We live in the water all summer long. Camping with the boat. Enjoying a joyride on the river. Jumping off of the dock. Spending the entire day outside. BBQ'ing with friends. Surf n' turf! All of the flowers are deep in bloom. The colors are vibrant and extreme. The colors that are the most attractive to my eyes. Family vacations. Lounging by the pool at our reunion with twenty of our close family members. Fireworks in the sky. The smell of steak on the grill, wow! I know I already mentioned the BBQ but that little slice of heaven just came to mind. Flying from one wake to the next on my wakeboard.......not another feeling like that in the world. Freeing. Flying. Carefree.
We do love our summers.

Fall.
Beautiful. Changing leaves. Slowing down the fast pace and entering back into the world of a schedule. School. Calendars. Blue skies with a bit of crispness in the air. Still in those capris. One last weekend trip to the lake for a few days of summer-like fun. Sweatshirts. Soccer games and school activities. Football (my husband's favorite). The neighborhood is still busy with chatter. The sounds of my children laughing as they are playing outside and splashing in the puddles. Reds, oranges, greens, and golds. Mountain biking through a wooden trail. The evenings are still long but only for a brief period of time. Fall is refreshing.

You see, I am a seasonal type of person and that is why I don't mind......the rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.