Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Big Wheel

I asked my kids if they wanted to go outside and ride bikes this afternoon. They did. My daughter chose her 'Tinkle Bell' scooter and my son chose his Big Wheel. But this time, he wanted to set up his jump. So we dragged the jump out and set it up at the bottom of the driveway. I made sure his helmet was on tight because I knew exactly what he had in mind. We did our usual safety check which is me standing in the street making sure that the neighborhood is free of cars. He likes to start at the top of the driveway and fly down the short hill on either his bike, scooter, or Big Wheel. I have to say it doesn't make me nervous anymore because he has done this hundreds of times and does really well with the speed and balance. But like I said, this time he wanted to ride off of the jump at the bottom.

So I sat down next to the jump and gave him the 'all clear' call. I set my camera for slow shutter speed and took a few pics of him jumping the jump on his Big Wheel. Each time down, he became more daring. Of course. His balance is pretty amazing though at such a young age. So I scooted closer to the ramp and said, "all clear". I had my eye in the view finder and snapped a pic of him going down the hill and then suddenly he was right in front of me. I did a half roll backward clicking the camera while ducking for cover and could hear his mischievious laughter, "ha haa haa Mommy, I almost got you". He skidded out right in front of me to be funny and about scared me to death. It's funny though, he rides his Big Wheel with the same degree of craziness that I used to ride mine. And he knows how to add the humor piece in with his stunts. Just like I did. Everyone says he that he is just like his Daddy but in so many ways, he is my mini me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.