Mapua morning

I woke to the call of a tui outside my camper, and listened to the fantails and thrushes answering. Sat up and pulled the curtain to then lose 30 minutes just watching the waves ease in and out. Mesmerising.

A breakfast outside in the early morning sunshine (with a jacket on - it is winter after all), then I took a walk around Mapua. It is somewhere that I have really only driven through to get to the cafes on the wharf, and never really explored before. What a great wee arty community. So many outdoor artworks in gardens and on letterboxes. Lots of little galleries tucked away in private studios - none of them open as it was too early on a Sunday morning.

I eventually wandered my way to the wharf and sat for a while at the Apple Shed cafe over a coffee (well, okay, over 2 coffees) and a read of the paper. On my way back to the campground I just happened to slip into a gallery where I was forced to buy a couple of pairs of earrings - one for me and one as a gift. Oh yes, I did pop into the hat shop too and came out wearing a new hat.

A great drive home. The van is an old girl and pretty slow, so I took my time - pulling off as often as I could to let traffic past. When I got to the Kohatu Cafe the van just pulled up (all on its own) so I had to have another coffee.

Home now, van sorted (you're right Twigs, it was dealt with more easily this time, I was more organised I guess), fire lit, blip posted. Now to do some work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.