Can I have some blueberries, please?

May I introduce you the Tammelan tori -market square which has an open every morning, throughout the year.

There is vegetables, berries in late summer, cafeterias, lunch (chinese, sausages, fish etc) kiosks and you can buy unique black sausage from Tampere there. There is also some hand made baskets, furniture and often art and second hand/ flee-market. In spring time you can buy also plants here. IF you get lost, you will go under the central clock (seen in thumbnali), there is always someone playing some instrument - and you just wait for your company there.

The square has opened as a market place already at 7th July in 1900. Before that the area was field, rent to the inhabitants by the town Tampere. In early days there was sold linen, wood, shoes, glassy items, clothing, tin plates, fodder for animals for excample grass and hay... Many families livin in Tampere-town at the time, bought actually almost everything needed from this Tammelantori -market square. The city living in early 1900's wa so different...

Nowadays in saturdays and sundays there is a lot of people in the market. Today I drove to visit there with my son and I offered him a good early lunch chinese food - and we bought 5kg blueberries from a ethnic (maybe originally a vietnamese, but very finnish speaking) family. They are brave and hard-working people, they really do pick berries every night now from Orivesi area woods (some 30-40km from Tampere) and sell the berries then in the market in the morning. I started to buy the berries from them some years ago, as my back is killing me before bears do in the woods picking anything...

My last vacation day.
Hubby left working today.

I enjoyed the time and did a semi-long tour (maybe 20km) with the bicycle and was swimming at Eliander's beach (COLD water, onlyh +17c) in Näsijärvi lake. As I got home, cooked some mussels in garlic, wine and cream and enjoyed a good thunderstorm passing by. Also cleaned and oiled our fans, the summerish heat is still here...

Blueberries are mostly frozen now, but I made some smoothie too.
So...
Cheers!!!!

Susanna

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.