ME - and a couple of bridges.

Neil texted and asked if I wanted to go to his house and take a look at where he's living. He has been there for a few months now and I hadn't been before. So I got the bus - texted Neil to say I was on my way and he came to meet me at the bus stop when I got off. His girlfriend was there too.

Short walk to his house. Neil gave me the " grand tour ". Its what I think is called a townhouse - with 3 storeys. Neil's room is on the top floor. He shares with 3 other lads - none of them were at home while I was there. The house is near the River Tyne - on the South side - and from Neil's bedroom window you can see over the river to Newcastle - you can even see St James Park - home of Newcastle United - in the distance.

Neil asked if I wanted to have lunch with him and we set off walking to Newcastle. Took this shot of Neil and Rachael outside of his house before we set off.

The route to Newcastle took us along the banks of the Tyne. We saw a Lapwing and an Oystercatcher looking for food in the mud.

Weather was quite nice so it was a pleasant walk. Rachael left us when we got to The Swing Bridge as she was going to the gym in Gateshead. Neil and I carried on over the bridge - this is where my blip shot was taken. You can see The Tyne Bridge and The Millennium Bridge in the background.

We walked to the main shopping area of Newcastle and headed for Pizza Express. My choice as I had a voucher for 25% off food. Neil had pizza and I had salmon salad which was huge - and delicious.

After the meal we decided to go to St James Park - Neil wanted to see the tributes which have been left for the 2 fans who died in the Malaysian airways plane crash. The tributes have grown since I was there last week - so many scarves, football shirts and flowers. We also paid our respects at the statue of Sir Bobby Robson - a former Newcastle manager - on the 5th anniversary of his death.

Neil then got the bus to my house. I stayed in town a bit longer and popped into Waitrose. Got home around 7pm.

Neil was on the computer for most of the evening so this is a late blip. Its after midnight so its a backblip now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.