Newcastle life

By Puffling

1101 statue

On the centenary of the outbreak of World War I, my grandpa took us to Seaham to see the sculpture titled "1101". I struggled to capture the scale of the 9ft 5in piece on statue in a photo. The 1.2 tonne soldier was made out of special Corteen steel by sculptor Ray Lonsdale. The imposing figure was only meant to be displayed at Seaham harbour for 3 months but locals have now been campaigning to raise money to keep him permanently in Seaham.
I recognised the style of the sculpture and realised I had previously seen more of the artists work when I lived in Scarborough, a huge fisherman that stands by the beach (and also in Filey). I hope Seaham do get to keep this monument of remembrance to the Great War.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.