Blip Meet

Not easy to decide what to blip today. But in the end I chose the photo Phil took of Cynthia, Clare and me along with Clare's friend Chris. The four of us met at La Fiamma for pizza and conversation today. We had a great time. After we finished our lunch, we tootled up to Cynthia's house for more chatter. Phil took this photo while we sat on the couches: Chris is on the left. I'm in the middle. Clare and Cynthia are on the right in that order. It was a great day.

When I got home I found Raven finishing the gardening accompanied by Simeon the tuxedo kitten. As many of you know Raven is our wonderful gardener and a long time friend. Simeon is a new friend who lives across our alley with the new young family that live in the house that Ed and Marie used to own. The new family consists of two young parents and four girls. The oldest is five and the youngest a couple of months old. A couple of weeks ago Simeon joined their family. He is an adorable tuxedo kitten who is sweet, mellow, loving and extraordinarily cute. I, of course, instantly fell in love with him.

Right now his family is gone and he is on his own. (Must discuss this with the parents...) At first we didn't even know they were off on vacation but it was clear that Simeon was on his own and we were worried. So were the teenage daughters of our other neighbor. We all tried knocking on the young family's door to warn them about the predators that live in our area but nobody was home. Luckily Simeon seems to be a very enterprising cat as he has managed to evade any of the larger animals who might do him harm. But he was getting pretty darn hungry. So against my better judgement, I've been feeding him.

Today I learned that his family is camping and nobody is sure when they will return. I will continue to feed the kitten and have a friendly conversation with them when they get back. I'll offer to feed him when they leave and suggest they take him to the vets so he won't start spraying and adding to the ferrule cat population. I have already suggested they take him in at night to no avail. I worry about him. For now, he eats on our front porch and our cats are getting used to meeting him through the closed screen door on our front door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.