Chautauqua Institution, New York

Chautauqua Institution, located in southwest New York state, is a fantastic place to spend a day, a week, or, if possible, longer. One visitor said in an online review that it is a "place that cannot be described; it must be experienced," I couldn't agree more! Each time I have the chance to spend a day or two within its gates, I am reluctant to leave. It is one of the places I love most to visit, and it is only two hours northeast of our Ohio home. We try to make it our destination at least one time each summer, and today was the day. I won't regale you with all the details of our visit, because you really do need to experience it to get the full impact of this special place. If you are ever fortunate enough to visit this lovely corner of New York, do yourself a favor and set aside a day to spend at the Chautauqua Institution. It will renew your body, mind, and spirit.

Today's blip is the Athenaeum Hotel. Can you see why it is called a "grand dame" of a hotel? Built is 1881, it is listed in the national register of historic places. Step inside, and you feel as if you are in a time warp, transported to a totally different time and place.

This is the first of two blips from our two day visit to Chautauqua. More about the experience in my next blip. Tonight I am tired and ready to go to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.