Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Tracks

Final Destination.......the tracks.

Today I had a free morning. Every week, my sister-in-law and I trade a morning watching the kids so that each of us can have a full morning to do absolutely whatever it is that we want. Sometimes there is an appointment or an important errand to run. Today, there was nothing pressing. Nothing that couldn't wait until tomorrow so I headed to the coffee shop. I was dressed in my workout gear with the false hope that I would make it to my weights class. That didn't happen. My agenda was the following:

1) Settle into a cozy chair at the coffee shop with a mocha
2) Read my fantastic book about a Doctor on the front lines in the war in Afghanistan.
3) Mail some cards (a productive errand)
4) Shoot some shots of the railroad tracks

When I pulled up to the coffee shop, I parked my car and realized that my husband and his coworker were there and we ended up at the same place. Funny how life works like that. The guys that he works with are really positive happy people so I sat around the table with them today for a little coffee talk.

As we were wrapping up coffee, a really good girlfriend of mine walked in with a co-worker. They were taking a little break and we just laughed when we saw each other. She is one of those people that I always wish I spent more time with. Our families vacation with one another, so we definitely get our quality time. We have a pretty great inside joke going every time we see each other that makes us both laugh pretty hard. When her co-worker asked what was so funny, my girlfriend told her, "Oh, it's a looooooong story". My husband was standing with us and added, "Funny, my wife is kind of is a long story". HA HA HA! But I kind of am. I love a good story. I love a good chat. I love a good joke. I am pretty much an open book so yeah, I guess that does make me a long story. I told everyone that I was off to the tracks for some photos. I got the "really????" expressions. "Hey, it's all in the name of art". I was going for that focal point perspective today and "yes, I will be very careful".

It was just a short walk to the railroad tracks. I knew that I wanted this shot today because I didn't have my little kids with me. So I snuck up to the DO NOT TRESPASS sign and carefully knelt down for my shot. I was getting quite a few stares so I didn't stay long. Just long enough for the shot of the track disappearing into the distance. It's funny how much attention a camera brings. It was a safe area though, so I was happy to experiment with this photo. On my way back, I still had some time to kill so I went back into the coffee shop and thought I'd grab a few minutes to read my book. I ran into a gal that I knew when I was teaching. I taught her daughter when I student taught.

So I think I read the same paragraph in my book five times until I realized that I wasn't retaining anything. I texted my friend about spin tomorrow and then I was off to pick up my son at preschool. My little free morning was over but what a fun little morning it was. I had expected it to be fairly quiet and unassuming and it turned out to be the social event of the year. I like that about life. I really do like bumping into people, sharing a quick hello or actually having a few minutes to catch up. I like the spontaneous factor. Nothing is ever the same. It makes life that much more refreshing.

When I look at this photo of the tracks, it makes me think about life and the tracks that we all take to find our own happiness. Most of us stay on and reach our destinations. Some fall off and never gain that solid ground. Hope and faith keeps us on those tracks. Family and friends keep us on the tracks. We can't do this alone. We need the support and strength from the people that we love. That is what makes life refreshing. That is what keeps us on course. Keeps up going down that solid path in life. Keeps us on track.

You know I had to end this with a little something analytical......hello, I'm Abstract Eyes. HA!

Well blipland, I'm going to catch a little American Idol. So I'll leave you with the words of Ryan Seacrest............"I'm out"!

Happy Evening to you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.