Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Changing views with a changing view

Today my view of the hideous monstrosity that is the parliament building was changed. No, I didn't just walk past with my eyes closed as one friend suggested. I went inside! They let you go in, I never really realised that, well I did but I assumed you were only allowed in to some foyer bit.

We went through security on the par of an airport but they didn't make me take my shoes off. I thought they would confiscate my camera, after all, we know photographer is code word for terrorist but no, they let me take it in. Even more surprising, you're allowed to take photographs! The inside is actually very beautiful in places, they put a lot of work in to it and adorned the plain concrete walls with art. You're allowed to roam around and they have meeting rooms with glass walls so you can push your face up against it, make silly faces and pretend those inside are goldfish to make everything very open to the public.

My reason for the trip to Parliament was to have lunch with S who works there and A who works around the corner. I was impressed by the lunch too, there were things I could actually eat. I was totally in awe and will be going back at a time when S can take a longer lunch and show me around properly.

The photo above is part of an art installation, it's made up of plates of glass etched with people and lineal patterns and swirls and illuminated from below. It's so intricate and on the hour it plas harp music. The lines (which unfortunately weren't present on this bit) are supposed to be a visual representation of the music.

Oh and we don't get to know the news I was talking about yesterday until after the weekend.

[edit] ooh look, you can tell I must be close to 365 now as you can see my first ever blip down there in the right hand corner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.