LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

A Window on Life

One can never take life for granted. I woke up this morning on top of the world after a great evening out at out Burns Supper last night when we had a splendid address to the haggis, and a wonderful flawless rendition of Tam o'Shanter by his Lordship, only to hear that my big cousin, Magpie's father had died in the early hours.
It was not totally unexpected as he had been ill, but nevertheless it is quite devastating when your own generation start dying. I only have two cousins and for many years he has been the patriarch, so to speak, of the extended clan on my side of the family.
He was highly intelligent, didn't suffer fools gladly, but he had a dry, caustic Scottish sense of humour which always made me laugh. His death has brought my own mortality into perspective.

I had just got this news when the youngest generation in the form of little Nina arrived on the doorstep with her Mum and Dad who are off to a wedding in Edinburgh this afternoon.
She will cheer us all up as she is a great wee character and full of life and mischief.
She and I went on a walk about in the rain and gloom of our weather today and now she is being entertained by her older cousin who is so good with her. They are dancing to music and having a whale of a time. She is staying at the castle overnight and I have a page of instructions to follow. One can get so out of touch with babies this age that I will have to read these instructions very, very carefully and not having anything terrible happen to her.
Oh dear, what a responsibility it is being a grandmother!

And so it is that life goes on despite everything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.