A DOOR

Another early start - was picked up at 9am by Lilian for the Slimming World Tuesday walk. Yet again we were the only two there - plus a toddler in a buggy. Today's walk was about 4 miles along the route of the old Derwent Railway. I reached 10, 00 steps while we were walking. Stopped off in the village on the way home to go to the bank and Tesco.

Hadn't heard from the computer guy I contacted online on Sunday so I looked in Yellow Pages and found someone else. Made arrangements for him to call this afternoon.

Neil arrived at lunchtime - he has a day off today. Day off tomorrow as well so we are going out for a meal to celebrate his birthday. His actual birthday is on Saturday but he has to go to work then.

My daughter Becky phoned during her lunchtime walk. I was surprised to hear that it was " chucking it down " with rain in Brentford. And that it had rained yesterday too. The weather here today has been really nice - warm and sunny. Not often we have better weather than the South.

So around 3pm the computer man arrived. I had an idea what was wrong as I had Googled the error message thingy that was coming up on my computer. I thought - correctly as it turned out - that when I had tried to delete an anti-virus programme something had gone wrong and part of the programme was left. The bit that was left was preventing Windows from working and stopping me from getting on the internet. The computer guy managed - in the end - to completely remove the offending programme and did a few other tweaks. He was here over an hour. His fee was £55 - which I thought was money well spent.

So I am back in business with a working computer - what a relief.

The August Challenge today is Textures Tuesday. I nipped out into the lane at the back of my house and took this shot of a door to one of the allotments. I love how the allotment holders all have different doors to their allotments - mostly they are old house doors ( with the number still on ) but some are like this one made out of bits and pieces. This guy has used old wood, metal strips and a piece of rubber tacked on over the lock to protect it from the rain so it doesn't go rusty. So a good variety of textures here.

Total steps today - 16,643

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.