Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Lace Lust

Summer has returned! Blue skies, fluffy white clouds and a balmy breeze meant that we took a wee jaunt in the car, with the aim of refreshments for us and a run about for Archie. Archie hasn't been in the car for quite some time, and I was quietly confident that perhaps he had outgrown his car sickness. Wrong! He was sick within 10 minutes, but I could reach round to the back seat in time to shove a poo bag over his muzzle.

We went to Haddington again, having enjoyed the Waterside pub and grassy walks along the river last time we were there. This time we had the bonus of two pipe bands (both playing different tunes) practising by the bridge. Archie was unfazed by the NOISE. Laces are some of Archie's favourite things, so he took a liking to this young lady who had the longest laces he had ever seen.

We had a beer and a sharing platter at the pub. It's a terrific menu. We sat outside in the sunshine, Archie under the table watching all the goings on. And what goings on there were. Young children raging up and down on their scooters, yelling and screeching as they rattled by the tables of diners. I'm sure the parents at the other end ignoring them thought that everyone loved hearing the joyful cries of their little darlings as we ate our lunch. Could I have been the only one to wish there had been a slight, er, accident...

Anyway, Archie coped well with them (it was me who growled) and with a spaniel who kept chasing a ball right by him. He just observed.

In what must have been a first, JR helped me finish my glass of beer. And last night I had approximately 17 Maltesers, and JR ate the rest. Unheard of.

On the way back we stopped at the pet shop. Archie was down at my feet, to see if that was any better for travelling. No. But he kindly waited till the door was open before being sick again.

He loves the pet shop. He found a hole at the bottom of a big bag of dog biscuits (obviously another dog had made it) and he was quietly munching away at the biscuits spilling out. I pretended I hadn't noticed and examined the nearby items with great interest for a wee while.

So, more progress on the nausea front for me, but Archie is back to Square One.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.