Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A successful morning in town

Off to the Apple Shop this morning, via the doctor. It feels as if my inner thermostat has broken, and I get very hot'n'bothered at the slightest bit of exercise (eg hanging the washing out). He asked if I'd been in contact with anybody with an exotic disease. Hmmmm... Not that I know of...

Arrived at the Apple Store when it was relatively empty. Appearances can be deceptive - I had two hours to wait! So I had a wander round town. Full of happy tourists in the sunshine! (The dark clouds are my rather melodramatic 'art' setting on the camera).

In a weak moment I went on the Big Wheel. What a ripoff! Three times round for £6. So I had to use this photo today - it cost me!

I then happened to meet an ex-colleague who now has Mondays off, so we swapped iPhone messages and will meet up at the beach one morning (she has a dog too). She told me about the free coffees at the Nespresso shop! And so yes, I did go and sample one. Very desirable little gadgets in there, I must say...

I went to sit in the sunshine and spotted a wee pop-up coffee stall, but mainly I spotted the rather gorgeous barista - a Princess from Granada, no less! And the coffee was served in a tiny shopping trolley. AND it was free cookie with a coffee weekend! (See the extras).

So the two hours passed most pleasantly.

I decided last night that with the new iPhones, the iPod Touch was surplus to my requirements, and checked out selling it on eBay. I found out that it wasn't the latest model, therefore it was an OLD version! The newest version came out in July, just after I bought mine. Therefore my 'old' version would only get one more upgraded iOS, then no more, making it even less saleable.

The lovely Lewis attended to me, and agreed that I did have a problem. In fact, I may well have been the last person to buy the 'old' version... He popped off to consult, and YES! They gave me a full refund!! Thankyouthankyou Apple. Contrary to my belief, they don't know when a new version (of anything) is coming out. And the old stock is packaged up and sent off - they don't try to sell them to unsuspecting customers. All good.

End of Festival Fireworks tonight, if I'm still awake...

PS JR took Archie up the Hill this evening. And guess who they met... Yes. Bailey. What a bonus!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.