Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Burly chaps

Had a coffee this morning. Can't say I enjoyed it. :-(

But what I have been able to enjoy again is a good sneeze. :-)

I had two big burly chaps appearing at my door at 8am. They're here to rip up the old cracked concrete path (and lay a lovely new traditional tiled one!). My only regret that Ms Heffalump, who used to stomp home at 4am after her stint in a pub, with no thoughts of tiptoeing or not slamming doors, has just moved out. What a shame - I would have quietly enjoyed that early morning noise just beneath her window...

Archie and I are trapped in the kitchen. We're both quite happy - we've got food, drink, toys (radio and iPad for me, empty milk container and sundry soft toys for A). In fact, we had a little training session. The only thing that Archie is absolutely certain of is 'DOWN', and so when you ask him to do anything else, he always reverts to this. With endearing enthusiasm, it must be said. I'm trying to get him to 'BEG'. Can't be hard - every dog in the world can do that.

This is his 'What the heck do you mean?' face... Is he being deliberately obtuse? No, he's not clever enough for that. We've both given up and gone back to our respective toys for a while. I do love his soft white hairy ears, but they were all shaved at his first grooming. I may ask for them to be left next time.

Off to the vet tomorrow for his 'free' six month check. I will ask what can be done about his continuing car sickness, and The Snip will be arranged. Sorry, Arch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.