Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Quintessential Hummie

Of the thousands of photos I've taken of hummers, I've never gotten this pose before, even though it is a totally-hummie posture. That made today's blip choice very easy. For those of you who aren't blessed with hummingbirds, what you are seeing here is a young hummer (a male, with his first couple of red feathers) following the flight of another hummer overhead. A fraction of a second after I snapped this, he was off and in hot pursuit of "the enemy." Maybe that's why I've never managed to capture this - by the time the head tips back, they are in flight. Anyway, hope you enjoy a slightly different view of a hummingbird. If you'd like to see three other hummers, a precocious chipmunk and a bald eagle bluejay, Click HERE - guaranteed to make you smile.

Hubs and I continued with packing and cleaning up today - him in the garage and storage shed and me upstairs in the linen closet (how on earth did I manage to stash THAT much stuff in there???). We took a break to go out to lunch and for a drive. Hubs is feeling nostalgic about leaving - I have to remember that he's only lived in NJ and NY so this move is, in many ways, harder for him. Tonight we are heading to a favorite restaurant for an early anniversary dinner. Our 14th anniversary is this Tuesday - but he will be back in FL and I will be flying to OR that day ... so tonight is our official "celebration." This will the first (and hopefully last) anniversary that we've spent apart.

Thank you so very much for stopping by, and for the many comments, faves and stars over the last few days. My apologies for not commenting much, but I wanted to spend as much time with hubs for these few short, sweet days as possible...

Ciao...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.