Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Thirteen Years, 364 Days Ago...

I married the love of my life. Tomorrow is our actual anniversary and it will be the first one we've spent away from each other. We plan on it being the last one we spend apart, too.

My hubs started an "anniversary book" on our first anniversary. He did it because I love cards, but don't like keeping them around in boxes for years. So, instead of a card, every year he gets up before me on our anniversary and writes something in the journal, leaving it for me to read when I get up. This is something that has always touched me deeply - I guess it is one of those special things that every couple does. We also try to get a photo of ourselves on each anniversary that I can print and put in the book to go with each entry. It is kind of fun (and scary!) to look back and see how we've changed from year to year.

Which brings me to this photo... I set up the tripod and my 105mm lens on the patio and took a bunch of shots of us using the remote. It is hard to get a candid shot of yourself since the element of surprise is - let's face it - non-existent. But, since I did what I always do and fired a bunch of shots, I did manage to get this shot that is sort of candid. It is overexposed so I fiddled with it a bit and then decided that it lent itself to mono.

Happy Anniversary, dear. You've barely been gone a few hours and I already miss you terribly.

Tomorrow morning I will be winging my way to OR for a too-short visit with my parents. We'll see what comes along for me to blip over the rest of the week from the west coast...

Happy Labor Day to all my friends in the US and Happy Monday to everyone else.

Cheers...

Debbi

And if you'd like to have a look at one of my personal favorite hummer pics, see last year's Blip...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.