And breath!

What a mad fortnight! Not helped by the disappearance of our internet (mast issues, and a rain-filled box!) Two trips to the the UK, three blipmeets, son#1 in residence and other things I can't even remember.
What a great few days I've just had though. Over to London on Tuesday, marvelling at the efficiency of the new terminal at Heathrow and astonished at how fast I got there ( a big plane! Normally the ones form Cork still have propellers), straight to my hotel where it took me about 10 minutes to work out how to actually get into my room (you now just press the card on the thingy), then a massive walk off to the South Bank where I'd heard rumours that Tate Modern was staying open all night and I wanted to see the Matisse cut outs.Unfortunately I turned the wrong way on Westminster bridge and a million miles later ended up at Tate Britain. Still, the evening was beautiful and the world and his wife were out.

Day 2 - up at sparrowfart and off to the British Museum for a whizz around before everyone else arrived, then off to Euston to meet my brother - the reason for my trip over for he had treated me to two theatrical experiences in one day, an early birthday present.We then went to see Wolf Hall, based on Hilary Mantel's amazing novel about Thomas Cromwell. Fantastic stuff and after a quick rush aorund the BFI and the National, plus food, we went back to see Bring Up the Bodies, the sequel. Cleary told, brilliantly directed and full of drama - much enjoyed by both of us.
Day 3 - up at sparrowfart again and off to the Tower, quite appropriate in view of what we'd watched yesterday. We wanted to see the installation commemorating the First World War- what a bold and wonderful piece of art, and still developing. We then got a boat up the Thames to Westminster where I managed to squeeze in a visit to Westminster Abbey as well. My feet are raw and my head frazzled. But London looked amazing and what impressed me most was how pleasant everyone was. Every tribe under the sun must have been represented but all were getting on - taking photos, eating ice creams, queueing for the Eye, all very calm. Why can't we always manage this?


Home, and fresh air and weird light; plus a very invigorating swim in the Atlantic.
And I've just realised it was my 1500th blip and I had no idea! Well what a nice couple to celebrate it with.
Backblip 1- Blipmeet & 1500 blip!
London Day 1
London Day 2
London Day 3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.