An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Nautical Bling! - Southampton Boat Show

About ten years ago I won my first 10 out of 10 score for a print, in the camera club's bi-monthly open competition, taken with my then new 14mm Sigma superwide lens, at this Show, back when I used film.

Returning, the tickets are half price at £10, after 3.30 pm. Fiddling with my watch at 3.24 and annoying the empty sales counter, the girl asked, several times if she could help anyone (me). Thinking that she was going to get one over on me and get me to stump up the full price, I duly ignored her. Anyways, I was allowed in five minutes early at the reduced rate.

To be honest, for the likes of you and me, well me, I know a couple of Blippers who enjoy their sailing, the only worthwhile parts are those out on the water. The specially constructed Marina - all pontoons joined together, reaching right out into Southampton Docks.

It's quite a tiring walk, up loads of steps over the two roads. Once there, it is quite disorientating that these pontoons move and sway slightly, as even on this weekday afternoon, a good number of people walked along. It was hot too, which on this occasion, didn't help. Coffee is £2.50 for a takeaway cup. As for the champagne bars, well, who knows!

My Nikkor 10-24mm lens was used at 10mm for 90% of the shots. It was tricky to get them well composed, as well as level and with variations of into the light, high contrast and without someone walking in and spoiling the image. There was so much visual info going on.

Lots going on in LARGE

My top scoring print way back when looked up at yacht masts with a bit of cloudburst going on behind. So, my current best would have to have a bit of a sky going on, as well as a strong foreground and to show lots of Bling Boats in a strong dynamic way.

Well, I think I got there, with this. So many potential images to choose from, but ultimately the majority not quite having enough going for them.

The Boat Show continues until 22nd September. Worth it, at £10, in my opinion.

Thanks so much to ALL for getting my Sunrise Stroller right up into the top of the Spotlights yesterday. So much appreciated. I had to be out for the rest of that day - and obviously, most of today too, will get back to Blip after some dinner

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.