Simply Me

By Suze981

Democracy

Well referendum day is finally upon us. It's been an interesting journey and the atmosphere in Scotland is buzzing.

As you know, I was a postal vote, so I voted weeks ago, but I kind of wish that I'd gone to the polling station to cast my vote today. My vote hasn't changed, I believe that the United Kingdom is better together, but it would have been nice to actually put my card in the box!

I have been in both Glasgow and Edinburgh today though soaking up the atmosphere. It's been really great - so many random people have struck up conversations with me because of my no badge!

This really is a momentus day in history. The debate over the last year has been educational, emotive and in parts nasty. In parts, the referendum has divided Scotland, and in other ways brought it together. The same is true of the rest of the UK too.

What the debate has managed to do though is raise the country's political consciousness. The level of awareness and engagement has been phenomenal - to me, that's the biggest winner of the day.

I've spoken to people over the last week who have told me they're not voting because politics doesn't matter to their lives. But what I think the majority of people are beginning to realise is that it does; it's incredibly important and by participating in the democratic process, you get a chance to influence the world you live in.

I'm a great believer in democracy. It might not always go your way, but by not voting, you've taken away your voice. You have a voice and you deserve to be heard.

So I urge everyone to go and vote. Vote for what makes sense to you - no matter what side of the debate that is.

I hope that whatever the outcome today, people put aside their differences and work together to make Scotland a great place to live. The referendum after all is only the beginning; the face of Scotland will change whatever happens today.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.