Awfie Dainty

After His Lordship's close call with society yesterday, he skipped off to the lonely hills this morning without so much as a grumble, leaving me to read the paper, eat my toast and contemplate the dirty kitchen floor.

Getting down on any floor on my hands and knees these days is quite a spectacle and while down there it is pertinent to think what else I can do at that level before struggling upright again.

Time obviously flies when cleaning the nest, and so I was in a rush to arrive in time for a birthday meeting with an old friend, or choosing my words more carefully, a longstanding one, who never fails to remind me that she is shorter in the tooth than I, although at our ages, it seems more of an academic disparity.
We only meet on birthdays, but she is the kind of friend with whom it is possible to pick up where we left off, and fill each other in with the gaps in the news of 10 months.

We laughed and reminisced, and laughed some more. What a tonic!
See you again in 6 weeks Margaret!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.