... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Wandsworth Common: Mallard Drake

More ripply and reflective in large ("L").

I went to Wandsworth Common briefly this afternoon (on my way back from a flying visit to Oxford) and enjoyed photographing the various waterfowl there in the rather dim light. It was overcast but the water was looking lovely and reflecting all the surrounding colours, so I took a whole series of shots focussing (almost) more on the water than the waterfowl subjects. This mallard was in the dark part of the pond under the trees; the map shows this photo as having been taken from in the water, but there is a boardwalk so I wasn't actually wading...

The worrying discovery was that the sweet runty Egyptian goose was looking very unhappy/unwell: it was in a dark part of the pond (where it often is) but looked dishevelled and poorly groomed, and had its wings hanging down rather than folded (shown here). I've informed Ann but it doesn't look good; I hope she can catch it and take it to the Swan Sanctuary because it looks like it could use some serious TLC.

I've uploaded other shots to Flickr (with a selection of water textures and colours, as well as various waterfowl subjects). They're right from my blip alternative moorhen.
Highlights:
Moorhen behind grasses
Male mallards moulting into eclipse plumage: Two & One
Curious male mallard
Tufted duck on a floating branch

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.