Keyline Capers

I've been trying out some of the 13 art filters offered on my new camera, about half of which, such as my favorite Dramatic Tone, are familiar to me from my little Olympus XZ-1. Among my favorites on the new Olympus E-M10 are "Key Line," which I've used in today's photo.

That filter's name should be keyline, a graphic design term for "a boundary line that separates color and monochromatic areas or differently colored areas of printing on a given page or other printed piece." You can see two examples of keyline use here, the clearly-written website on which I found that definition.

I enjoyed contrasting yesterday's photo of echinacea flowers in various stages of decline with this keyline version, but all this play pales in comparison to the incredibly detailed and beautiful interior photo that gladders posted today of Istanbul's Blue Mosque -- take a look!

Blip 1050

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.