Cairn

Driving along the highway I passed a lot of these rock sculptures. I remembered seeing them last time I was here and I regretted that I didn't stop and photograph them. I drove on, thinking that I should stop this time - but not bothering.

I went over the Lindis Pass today just because I love the harshness of the landscape. When I got to Tarras on the other side I realised that there was nowhere on the southern side of the Lindis that I wanted to be - so I turned around and came back.

On the way back I finally did stop to photograph the rock structures but once I had taken a few photos the idea came to me that i should build one for Blaze. So I did. Nothing like as fancy or big as some of them, but personal to me and that makes all the difference.

When I got back to Omarama I tossed a coin and it came up tails so I turned right and have come back to Lake Benmore, staying at a lovely park on the lake.

Once I'd downloaded today's photos the task of choosing one became too hard - so I've gone with Blaze's cairn. Definitely not my best from the day - but as I said above, personal.

I've put five of the better ones from today on flickr - they can be seen here. They all show the incredible difference in landscape from yesterday's lake image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.