The second half of life..

By twigs

A glorious past

The weather overnight wasn't so good so it was no surprise that we didn't do the sunrise thing. What we did do was to share a breakfast chat watching some heavy rain clouds roll in over the hills and begin to deposit their contents on us.

After breakfast it was off to the old forge, an amazing shed filled with hundreds of old horse shoes, tools, coke (to fire the forge, not drink), massive bellows and dozens of other items each worthy of photographing. Time however, only allowed us a relatively shorttime in there before it was coffee time down in the village. On our return the pack-up/clean-up began and those who were ahead of the play spent some time reviewing their learning with Scott. Once I was through packing the van up I had a brief but very good introduction to creating HDR images from the images we'd shot. What looks complicated seems to be quite simple. Time will tell whether impressions are accurate.

We said our goodbyes and thankyous then it was on the road - the rest of the group back to Christchurch and me .........

I know it seems odd, but I chose to spend last night in Kurow, barely 30 minutes drive from Otematata. The reason? By the time I got there (via a few stops to look at some of the Waitaki River dams and HEP stations......then a photo hunting session in Kurow itself where I found this rather sporty looking car. It's a Javelin.....anyone ever heard of them?) it was late enough in the afternoon that I figured an easy late afternoon/evening of shower and hair wash, dinner and a movie (I bring DVD's with me in the van - Kurow most definitely does not have a cinema!) would mean that I could spend as long as I wanted tomorrow driving the Hakataramea back country road to Tekapo. And so it was. Lovely long shower, overdude and very welcome hair wash then a nice movie to settle to in the evening.

Tekapo here I come.....tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.