Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Phoebe, feeling better

I am happy to report that, after a night in isolation, Phoebe seems to be doing a bit better. She and Rocket and been hurling small insults at each other whenever direct eye-contact is made, but the jihad has been relatively mild. Took this with my macro lens, so the DOF is quite shallow; however, I kind of like the effect. And, speaking of shallow DOF, check out this super close up of a brown anole face.

While I am thrilled that Phoebes is doing better, I am sorry to say that I had a rather nasty fall today and ended up in the critical care clinic for x-rays and a hideous boot that must now be worn until my foot/ankle heal. Hubs had just left for a bike ride and I went down to our garage to take something out. The garage is lower than our first floor and involves about 5 cement steps. I missed the last one, and in an attempt not to crash my head into the car, I twisted to my right and my left leg, foot, and ankle ended up twisted up under me when I heat the cement floor. Scared the sh** out of me and I lay there for a minute trying to decide if I'd broken my foot. I managed to get back in the house and up a flight and a half of stairs, mostly on my hands and knees since I couldn't support any weight on my left foot. I got some ice and sat with my foot up on a stool, shaking all over.

When hubs got home, we headed to the nearest emergency clinic. By then, I was pretty certain nothing was broken, but I was in quite a bit of pain and suspected a severe sprain. I was right, nothing broken - but ligaments got banged up a bit and I'll be hobbling for a while. Advil and RICE (rest, ice, compression, and elevation) is the order - along with the aforementioned hideous black boot. I am also adding Wine to the treatment plan - along with dinner in a restaurant (since I can't possibly cook in my fragile condition, now can I??!!) So, other than being sore as hell, and thoroughly pissed at myself for being careless, I'm fine.

I had planned to take hubs to the beach tonight for a walk, but that's out now that I can only hobble. Maybe next weekend...

Happy Saturday, people.

Debbi

PS. and Notch, the squirrel has discovered my birdfeeder. Since no birds have yet discovered it, I'm happy feeding Notch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.