Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A familiar face!

Finally ... a pair of cardinals discovered my bird feeder this morning - and just when I needed a bit of cheering up, too.

My foot/ankle are still wickedly sore and it's very difficult to put any weight at all on my left foot at this point. Not to mention that it's now turning a noxious shade of purplish blue. For someone who doesn't do well sitting still (thanks for the "fidget gene", mom and dad) this is the PITS. Hubs had to work today so I am basically confined to the townhouse with minimal trips up/down the stairs. Have I mentioned that our new home is 3 stories... yea, that kind of bites right now.

Anyway, I spent a little time on the ground floor patio where I saw several mockingbirds and blue jays flitting in the trees behind the townhouse. Also heard both downy and red-bellied woodpeckers very closely which is kind of cool. Notch the Squirrel was busy chowing down on bird seed ... and then the cardinals showed up! That made me a somewhat happier bunny - at least I have something to do while my foot is propped up. Oh, and Igor the patio-lizard was also there to keep me company. I think he likes me. He just hangs out on a small plant stand and bobs his head occasionally. The patio is fully screened in, so he is in no danger from birds - probably makes him a happy bunny, too.

Okay, back to my boring day. Maybe I'll finish the book I'm reading... and maybe, miraculously, my foot will be better tomorrow so I can get out for a while.

Happy Sunday, people...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.