Appreciation

By Appreciation

Not 99 Red Ballons

You may not know what a ridiculously irrational fear I have of latex balloons. No, I am not allergic to latex, I just hate balloons. My fear of them grows each time I have reason to use them.

Why then did I find myself searching for balloons in the party drawer? Because there is a birthday on the horizon. Imagine my surprise when we had not only balloons but a whole packet of 8 red balloons!!!!

Blowing them up had me squealing inside. I can never blow them to their full capacity and the securing of them has my face in contortions for fear of one bursting.

I held them between my finger and thumb at arms distance and took them into the bathroom to rest them on an old lampshade.

I have taken some of my favourite shots in the darkened bathroom - odd I know. I put out the light, which made my shoulders drop as I could no longer see the balloons. I shone a light through the lampshade and was immediately taken my the shadows on the wall. I love the abstract feel to this, the glow from the red barely visible.

If I were ever to receive a birthday card with balloons on then this is the type of card I would like it to be. And all this to wish those wonderful people at Blipcentral a happy 10th Birthday!

Can someone come and take the balloons away now please!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.