Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

White Peacock

As best I can tell, this is one of the most common butterflies around these parts. I always see them when I am near lakes and they are relatively easy to photograph if you are using a long lens and don't have to get too close (they spook easily).

I am happy to report that my foot/ankle felt quite a bit better today. I am still wearing the boot, but I think that I may be able to ditch it tomorrow. I'm still taking ibuprofin, but in lower dosages and less frequently. I am thinking that I may have dodged a bullet in terms of length of time this takes to heal. That said, I vow to continue to be careful for the next week or so.

My big accomplishment today was getting my FL drivers license! Yes, I'm legally a resident now, I guess. Still have to get the cars registered here, but I have to get the insurance sorted out first. On the way back from the motor vehicle office, I stopped at the store and bought some fresh local grouper (fish) for dinner tonight. I've never cooked grouper before, so I'll have to go online and find an interesting way to prepare it. I'm certain that it will go nicely with a NZ Savignon blanc...

In between thunderstorms, I got out mid-afternoon for about an hour at Lake Seminole Park. It's less than a mile from where we live and there are many places to pull off and park - all with benches and picnic table, perfect for a booted gimp like me. It was wonderful to be out with my camera again! I saw loads of cool birds including three different heron species (tri-colored, little blue and great blue). I also saw a Gopher Tortoise, a beautiful creature that is on the "threatened" list in FL. I posted 11 shots on Flickr, starting HERE with an inquisitive young squirrel.

Tomorrow's forecast is more of the same - scattered thunderstorms - so I'll look for a break in the weather and then get out for a while.

Thank you very much for stopping in. And Igor says thanks for all the lovely comments and stars yesterday. He's chuffed!

Ciao,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.