a town called E.

By Eej

Old Friends

"Can you imagine us years from today
sharing a park bench quietly
How terribly strange to be seventy

Old friends, memory brushes the same years
silently sharing the same fears"


Many, many years ago when I was sick, my mama would make me sit on a chair next to the bed while she made it. Or, she'd make me go downstairs for a bit so she could air the room. That was even better as the bed would be colder. I can still feel myself slipping back into it, hot with fever between the cool sheets.

It surprises me that in this photo (from 1972, possibly recovering from the mumps) I am not using Panda as a pillow, as I know I usually did. Still, he's right there beside me, available as a pillow should the need arise. Poes (made by mama) is content sitting above my head and Eenoog ... well. For some reason I put a dress on him and that's probably the reason he's looking a little stand-offish. Bears are not fans of cross-dressing. Who knew? ;)

All three of them survived the long trip in a container across the ocean and have over the last two years established their various hang-outs around the house. We say "hi!, howyadoin'?" when we pass each other.
We all know that I couldn't bear to part with them, but that the time I really needed them is long gone.

However ...
Today I came home feeling decidedly sick and with the nor'wester blowing nothing seemed better than to curl up in bed. And no questions asked, my old friends all came running to my side.

Just like in the olden days :)



I don't remember where I saw the 'photo-in-photo' idea so I don't know who to credit. If it was YOU, thank you :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.