Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Blipfoto - Made in Edinburgh!

This might look simple, but it has taken me just about All Day.

The scene came to me in a dream last night. So first thing this morning, I was trailing round the shops in the neighbourhood looking for a packet of balloons… I could have had orange glowing LED Hallowe’en balloons, but these ordinary ones were scary enough for Archie when he clapped eyes on the first one in his kitchen!

Ten round RED balloons? Impossible, unless I bought the entire stock of the wee party packs when I eventually found them in the last shop I visited. So I had seven red, two pink and one orange. No bother to replace colour in Photoshop later … er… wrong. So it’s a botched job - don’t look too closely.

We met MotherShipton as we came up the hill. I didn't know it was MotherShipton at the time, but I knew the way she was looking at me carrying a bunch of red(ish) balloons up a hill on a dog walk, that she knew what I was up to!

I had envisaged them flying up above Archie's head in the blue skies.

Not enough wind.

They were tied to a stick so that he could hold the stick in his mouth, as is his wont.

With balloons on it? No way!

Stuck the stick into his collar a bit, but there was enough wind to ensure that they flew away. Twice. Just as well I had my fleet-footed assistant, JR, to charge into the long grass and grab them.

Stuck the stick through his collar. Waited for a suitable balloon lifting wind. It did not arrive. Just the ear lifting one...

Archie was SO patient. Actually, so was JR. Treats all round when we came home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.