Not Porty People and Places

This evening our clients took us on a dhow on The Nile to mark the successful conclusion of our project here.

The tranquility of this great river, quickly drowns out the sounds of the manic city of 22 million that sprawls for miles along its banks. That tranquility is compounded by the dhow having no engine and is powered solely by the breeze in its sails and the fast flowing current pulsing north towards its Mediterranean Sea delta.

My blip shows the captain steering the dhow with his foot and peering into the dark looking out for shadowy sails of other dhows like the one behind him.

As we enjoyed a delicious Indian buffet meal I foolishly opened my phone, to send a picture to our family on Whatsapp and received a text from BA informing me that my flight home from LHR tomorrow "was cancelled"! Hurricane Gonzalo is the culprit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.