Between the bridges

Dad and I headed to another mall this afternoon in search of pair of dress jeans for him. It was brief and he found what he was after.

Since we were on the Waim River side of town, we continued on so I could have a fish. I've seen the river beds full of dust in a nor'westerly but today I saw the same effect with a strong nor'easterly.

On the left is the railway line from Picton to Christchurch. On the right is State Highway 1. The motorway bridge is about 1km up river.

Nice large

It was a mean wind in more ways than one. I came in for a drink and to change fly. I carefully placed my rod and reel down low balanced on my gear bag. I'd picked up a piece or carelessly discarded nylon left by someone else with no regard for wildlife or the environment.

I left my rod etc to put the wad of nylon in the boot. While I was doing it, a big gust of wind flipped the rod and reel, the tip of the rod sprung upwards and was caught by the car door, blown shut with the same gust.

I watched in horror as the carbon fibre tip snapped in the door.

Bugger.

Never mind, it could be worse, no one was hurt and we still had a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.