Shrouded

This is the Registry building I used to work in until the February 2011 earthquake. It's undergoing repairs and strengthening to 100% of the building code.

The big plan is we'll return to Registry in about a year. Being on the 3rd floor of a large concrete building will be different to my current single level wooden building. Strengthening to 100% of the building code is fantastic. I'll still be looking at the engineers report and I'm fortunate my employer owns the building, rather than rents it from a faceless owner.

The shroud keeps the workmen and their tools separate from students and staff who pass by below. The shroud was added after a crescent spanner dropped from above and narrowly missed someone walking past below. I can only imagine how my eyes would water if a builders tool dropped from a great height, smacked me in the back of the head.

On my way home today I stopped at 'Hunting and Fishing' in town and bought a new trout fishing rod. I'm so excited :-) If the weather ever stops blowing in the hills I'll get to try it out next weekend when the high country fishing season opens.

Right, I'm away to call the little mother-ship.

Happy long weekend NZ blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.