Shiny and new

A new reel. The old one assessed as not worth fixing.

This little gem is grunty enough for trout and salmon. I'm unlikely to get a chance to test drive it after work next week but it will definitely see some action Saturday 3 November when the fishing season opens in the high country lakes.

The hunter isn't a fisherman but he'll come along to support. I'm more at home fishing in the sea but it's time I mastered the wonderful freshwater fishing resource on my doorstep.

I have small trout rod that dismantles into 9 short pieces. Mum and Dad gave it to me years ago. It's ideal to take tramping.

They're enjoying seeing me check and fix lures and sort my gear.

Now all I have to do is catch a trout. No pressure ;-)

We made do with wild venison for dinner tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.